S3 Guideline on Diagnostics and Treatment of Cervical Cancer on the subject of hyperthermia

Excerpt from the S3 Guideline on Diagnostics and Treatment of Cervical Cancer on the subject of hyperthermia

The German Cancer Society (DKG) established the Information Center for Standards in Oncology (ISTO) in 1995 to implement a comprehensive quality assurance program with focus on oncological care. The creation of guidelines on the diagnosis, treatment and follow-up of malignant diseases plays a key role in this effort, since the recovery chances of patients with malignant neoplasms can only be improved by developing new diagnostic and therapeutic concepts and consistently applying proven methods. The requirements for generating such guidelines have become more stringent in recent years, not only in terms of methodology and technical criteria, but also with regard to financial aspects. The Oncological Guidelines Program (OL) was established in cooperation with the German Cancer Society (DKG), German Cancer Aid (DKH), and the Association of Scientific Medical Societies in Germany (AWMF) to address this problem.
This post discusses the S3 Guideline content on the use of regional hyperthermia.

The document contains an evidence-based recommendation, supported by strong consensus, to include loco-regional hyperthermia in the treatment of loco-regional relapses or primary cervical cancer ≥ FIGO stage IIB in combination with percutaneous radiation therapy.

According to the Cochrane meta-analysis published in 2010 [1], various non-blind, methodologically limited clinical studies of patients with cervical cancer in FIGO stage IIB-IVA (74% in FIGO stage IIIB) were able to demonstrate that combining radiotherapy with loco-regional hyperthermia (hyperthermia reaching a minimum temperature of 40°C) can result in a significantly improved response rate (RR 0.56; 95% CI 0.39-0.79; p < 0.001), a significantly reduced 3-year recurrence rate (HR 0.48; 95% CI 0.37-0.63; p < 0.001) and a significantly increased 3-year overall survival rate (HR 0.67; 95% CI 0.45-0.99; p = 0.05) with comparable acute (RR 0.99; 95% CI 0.30-3.31; p = 0.99) or long-term level III/IV toxicity (RR 1.01; 95% CI 0.44-2.30; p = 0.96). The aim of the Cochrane analysis was to examine whether adding hyperthermia to the standard therapy for cervical cancer in FIGO stage IIB-IVA would impact local tumor control, survival or treatment-related morbidity. Radiation was considered the standard therapy (with only one study involving radio[chemo]therapy). 74% of enrolled patients had non-recurring stage IIIB cancer and the application regimens for hyperthermia varied greatly. According to the authors, the uncertain data situation therefore does not permit any general recommendations to include hyperthermia in the treatment of FIGO stage IIB-IVA cervical cancer without remote metastases. A randomized phase III study compared HDR brachytherapy with combined HDR brachytherapy and interstitial hyperthermia in patients with cervical cancer who had completed radio(chemo)therapy. In contrast to regional deep hyperthermia, this combination therapy was not able to improve local control or disease-free survival [2]. A clear distinction is made between loco-regional, standardized deep hyperthermia performed with quality assurance [3, 4] and whole-body hyperthermia treatments, which are not appropriate for this therapy.

The Celsius42 TCS – Tumor Cell Solution hyperthermia system is optimally suited for implementing the recommended regional deep hyperthermia and offers an excellent balance between clinical outcome and staffing and financial expenditures.

We will be pleased to provide further information.

Your Celsius42 Team

[1] Lutgens, L., et al., Combined use of hyperthermia and radiation therapy for treating locally advanced cervical carcinoma. Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2010(1): p. CD006377.
[2] Zolciak-Siwinska, A., et al., HDR brachytherapy combined with interstitial hyperthermia in locally advanced cervical cancer patients initially treated with concomitant radiochemotherapy - a phase III study. Radiother Oncol, 2013.
[3] Bruggmoser, G., et al., Guideline for the clinical application, documentation and analysis of clinical studies for regional deep hyperthermia: quality management in regional deep hyperthermia. Strahlenther Onkol, 2012. 188 Suppl 2: p. 198-211.
[4] Bruggmoser, G., et al., Quality assurance for clinical studies in regional deep hyperthermia.Strahlenther Onkol, 2011. 187(10): p. 605-10.

Celsius42 Update Team

Our team of different experts in the field of marketing and application supported by Dr. Hüseyin Sahinbas and Martin Rösch are at your disposal for the description and summary of clinical and applicative texts. Information for users and patients around the hyperthermia!

Send email

Contact

Celsius42 GmbH
Hermann-Hollerith-Str. 11 a
52249 Eschweiler
Deutschland

+49 (0)2403-7829230
Send email

Celsius42 Korea LTD
GunpoIT-Valley, A 3102-1, 17, Gosan-ro 148 Beon-gil,
Gunpo-city, Gyunggi-do,
South Korea

+82 (0)31-360-7622
Send email

Information

Sources
FAQ
Newsletter

S3-Leitlinie Diagnostik und Therapie Zervixkarzinom zum Thema Hyperthermie

Auszug aus der S3-Leitlinie Diagnostik und Therapie Zervixkarzinom zum Thema Hyperthermie

1995 hat die Deutsche Krebsgesellschaft (DKG) das Informationszentrum für Standards in der Onkologie (ISTO) gegründet, um ein umfassendes Qualitätssicherungsprogramm insbesondere für die onkologische Versorgung zu implementieren. Die Erstellung von Leitlinien für Diagnostik, Therapie und Nachsorge maligner Erkrankungen spielt dabei die zentrale Rolle. Nur die Entwicklung von neuen Diagnose- und Therapiekonzepten sowie die konsequente Anwendung bewährter Methoden tragen dazu bei, dass sich die Heilungschancen für immer mehr Patientinnen und Patienten mit bösartigen Neubildungen verbessern. In den letzten Jahren haben sich die Anforderungen an die Erstellung von Leitlinien erhöht. Dieses schließt nicht nur die methodischen und technischen Aspekte mit ein, sondern auch die finanziellen Aspekte. Um dieses Problem anzugehen, ist das Onkologische Leitlinienprogramm (OL) in Kooperation mit der Deutschen Krebsgesellschaft (DKG), der Deutschen Krebshilfe (DKH) und der Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Wissenschaftlichen Medizinischen Fachgesellschaften (AWMF) gegründet worden.
Teil dieser entstandenen S3 Leitlinie ist auch der Einsatz der regionalen Hyperthermie, die wir Ihnen heute vorstellen möchten:

Es besteht eine Evidenzbasierte Empfehlung mit einem starken Konsens, dass die lokoregionäre Hyperthermie bei der Therapie des lokoregionären Rezidivs oder des primären Zervixkarzinoms ≥ FIGO-Stadium IIB in Kombination mit der perkutanen Radiotherapie eingesetzt werden kann.

Gemäß der 2010 veröffentlichen Cochrane-Meta-Analyse [1] konnte in verschiedenen nicht verblindeten, methodisch eingeschränkten klinischen Studien bei Patientinnen mit Zervixkarzinom FIGO-Stadium IIB-IVA (74 % FIGO-Stadium IIIB) gezeigt werden, dass durch die Kombination der Radiotherapie mit einer lokoregionären Hyperthermie (Hyperthermie mit Erreichen einer Minimaltemperatur von 40º Celsius) eine signifikante Verbesserung der Ansprechrate (RR 0,56; 95 % KI 0,39 – 0,79; p < 0,001), eine signifikante Verminderung der 3-Jahres-Rezidivrate (HR 0,48; 95 % KI 0,37 – 0,63; p < 0,001) und ein signifikant verbessertes 3-Jahres-Gesamtüberleben (HR 0,67; 95 % KI 0,45 – 0,99; p = 0,05) bei vergleichbarer akuter (RR 0,99; 95 % KI 0,30 – 3,31; p = 0,99) oder Langzeit Grad III/IV-Toxizität (RR 1,01; 95 % KI 0,44 – 2,30; p = 0,96) erreicht werden kann. Das Ziel der Cochrane-Analyse war es, zu untersuchen, ob das Hinzunehmen zur Standardtherapie bei Zervixkarzinom FIGO-Stadium IIB-IVA einen Einfluss auf die lokale Tumorkontrolle, das Überleben oder die therapiebedingte Morbidität hat. Als Standardtherapie galt die Radiotherapie (nur eine Studie mit Radio[chemo]therapie). Es wurden 74 % der Patentinnen in Stadium IIIB und nicht in der rezidivierten Situation eingeschlossen und die Hyperthermieapplikationsschemata variierten stark. Die insgesamt unsichere Datenlage lässt somit nach Ansicht der Autoren keine generelle Empfehlung der Hyperthermie bei der Behandlung des Zervixkarzinoms FIGO-Stadium IIB-IVA ohne Fernmetastasen zu. Eine randomisierte Phase III-Studie verglich bei Patientinnen mit Zervixkarzinom nach abgeschlossener Radio(chemo)therapie die HDR-Brachytherapie mit der Kombination von HDR-Brachytherapie und interstitieller Hyperthermie. Es konnte durch diese Kombinationstherapie im Gegensatz zur regionalen Tiefenhyperthermie keine Verbesserung der lokalen Kontrolle oder des krankheitsfreien Überlebens erreicht werden [2]. Klar abgegrenzt wird die lokoregionäre, standardisierte Tiefenhyperthermie, die qualitätsgesichert erfolgt [3, 4], von den Ganzkörperhyperthermieverfahren, die für diese Therapie nicht geeignet sind.

Das Celsius42 TCS – Tumor Cell Solution Hyperthermiesystem bietet sich für diese Empfehlung, die regionale Tiefenhyperthermie umzusetzen, optimal an und bildet ein sehr gutes Verhältnis zwischen klinischem Ergebnis und dem personellen und finanziellen Aufwand.

Sehr gerne können wir Sie mit weiterführenden Informationen versorgen.

Ihr Celsius42 Team

[1] Lutgens, L., et al., Combined use of hyperthermia and radiation therapy for treating locally advanced cervical carcinoma. Cochrane Database Syst Rev, 2010(1): p. CD006377.
[2] Zolciak-Siwinska, A., et al., HDR brachytherapy combined with interstitial hyperthermia in locally advanced cervical cancer patients initially treated with concomitant radiochemotherapy - a phase III study. Radiother Oncol, 2013.
[3] Bruggmoser, G., et al., Guideline for the clinical application, documentation and analysis of clinical studies for regional deep hyperthermia: quality management in regional deep hyperthermia. Strahlenther Onkol, 2012. 188 Suppl 2: p. 198-211.
[4] Bruggmoser, G., et al., Quality assurance for clinical studies in regional deep hyperthermia.Strahlenther Onkol, 2011. 187(10): p. 605-10.

Celsius42 Update Team

Unser Team aus verschiedenen Experten im Bereich des Marketing und der Appliaktion und unterstützt von Dr. Sahinbas und Martin Rösch, stehen für die Beschreibung und Zusammenfassung von klinischen und applikativen Texten zu Ihrer Verfügung. Informationen für Anwender und Patienten rund um die Hyperthermie!

E-mail senden

Kontakt

Celsius42 GmbH
Hermann-Hollerith-Str. 11
52249 Eschweiler
Deutschland

+49 (0) 24 03 – 7829 230
E-mail senden

Celsius42 Korea LTD
Gunpo IT-Valley, S-B102, 17, Gosan-ro 148 Beon-gil,
Gunpo-city, Gyunggi-do,
South Korea

+82-70-5208 7622
E-mail senden