Hyperthermia: The optimal treatment to overcome problems of radiation resistant hypoxia

Hyperthermia: The optimal treatment to overcome problems of radiation resistant hypoxia

Regions with low oxygen supply (hypoxia) are a characteristic feature of solid tumors, and the cells present in these regions are an important factor influencing radiation resistance and playing an important role in malignant progression. As a result, numerous preclinical and clinical trials have been undertaken to overcome this hypoxia. These approaches include improving oxygen availability, radiosensitizing or killing hypoxic cells, or using high LET (linear energy transfer) radiation, resulting in a lower OER (oxygen improvement ratio).

Interestingly, hyperthermia (heat treatments of 39-45°C) causes many of these effects and can easily improve the situation. In particular, it increases the blood flow and thus improves the oxygen supply to the tissue, sensitizes via DNA repair inhibition and can kill cells directly or indirectly through vascular damage. The combination of hyperthermia with low LET radiation can even lead to anti-tumor effects similar to those of high LET. The different mechanisms depend on the time and sequence between radiation and hyperthermia, the heating temperature and the heating time. In this work by researchers from Aarhus and Amsterdam, the role of these factors in influencing the interaction between hyperthermia and radiation will be discussed and some randomized clinical trials will be summarized showing the benefits of such a combination and suggesting the possible future clinical application of this combination.

The full review can be found here:
https://www.researchgate.net/publication/330285940_Hyperthermia_The_Optimal_Treatment_to_Overcome_Radiation_Resistant_Hypoxia

Your Celsius42 Team

Celsius42 Update Team

Our team of different experts in the field of marketing and application supported by Dr. Hüseyin Sahinbas and Martin Rösch are at your disposal for the description and summary of clinical and applicative texts. Information for users and patients around the hyperthermia!

Send email

Contact

Celsius42 GmbH
Hermann-Hollerith-Str. 11
52249 Eschweiler
Deutschland

+49 (0) 24 03 – 7829 230
Send email

Celsius42 Korea LTD
Gunpo IT-Valley, S-B102, 17, Gosan-ro 148 Beon-gil,
Gunpo-city, Gyunggi-do,
South Korea

+82-70-5208 7622
Send email

Information

Medical Blog
Sources
FAQ

Hyperthermie: Die optimale Behandlung zur Überwindung von Problemen strahlungsresistenter Hypoxie

Hyperthermie: Die optimale Behandlung zur Überwindung von Problemen strahlungsresistenter Hypoxie

Regionen mit geringer Sauerstoffversorgung (Hypoxie) sind ein charakteristisches Merkmal solider Tumore, und die in diesen Regionen vorhandenen Zellen sind ein wichtiger Faktor, der die Strahlungsresistenz beeinflusst und eine wichtige Rolle bei der bösartigen Progression spielt. Infolgedessen wurden zahlreiche präklinische und klinische Versuche unternommen, um diese Hypoxie zu überwinden. Diese Ansätze beinhalten die Verbesserung der Sauerstoffverfügbarkeit, die Radiosensibilisierung oder das Abtöten der hypoxischen Zellen oder die Nutzung von hoher LET-Strahlung (linearer Energietransfer), was zu einem niedrigeren OER (Sauerstoff-Verbesserungsverhältnis) führt.

Interessanterweise verursacht die Hyperthermie (Wärmebehandlungen von 39-45 °C) viele dieser Effekte und kann somit sehr einfach die Situation verbessern. Insbesondere erhöht es die Durchblutung und verbessert so die Sauerstoffversorgung des Gewebes, sensibilisiert über die DNA-Reparaturhemmung und kann Zellen direkt oder indirekt durch Gefäßschäden abtöten. Die Kombination von Hyperthermie mit geringer LET-Strahlung kann sogar zu Anti-Tumor-Effekten führen, die denen von High LET entsprechen. Die verschiedenen Mechanismen hängen von der Zeit und dem Ablauf zwischen Strahlung und Hyperthermie, der Heiztemperatur und der Heizzeit ab. In dieser Arbeit der Forscher aus Aarhus und Amsterdam, wird die Rolle dieser Faktoren bei der Beeinflussung der Interaktion zwischen Hyperthermie und Strahlung diskutieren und einige randomisierten klinischen Studien zusammengefasst, die einen Nutzen einer solchen Kombination zeigen, sowie die mögliche zukünftige klinische Anwendung dieser Kombination vorschlagen.

Das komplette Review finden Sie hier:
https://www.researchgate.net/publication/330285940_Hyperthermia_The_Optimal_Treatment_to_Overcome_Radiation_Resistant_Hypoxia

Ihr Celsius42 Team

Celsius42 Update Team

Unser Team aus verschiedenen Experten im Bereich des Marketing und der Appliaktion und unterstützt von Dr. Sahinbas und Martin Rösch, stehen für die Beschreibung und Zusammenfassung von klinischen und applikativen Texten zu Ihrer Verfügung. Informationen für Anwender und Patienten rund um die Hyperthermie!

E-mail senden

Kontakt

Celsius42 GmbH
Hermann-Hollerith-Str. 11
52249 Eschweiler
Deutschland

+49 (0) 24 03 – 7829 230
E-mail senden

Celsius42 Korea LTD
Gunpo IT-Valley, S-B102, 17, Gosan-ro 148 Beon-gil,
Gunpo-city, Gyunggi-do,
South Korea

+82-70-5208 7622
E-mail senden